• Shimano Curado
  • Moore Boats -
  • G. Loomis IMX-PRO
  • Power Pro Maxcuatro
  • G. Loomis Conquest
  • Jackall Scissor Comb

Tournament News Powered By Lake Drive Marine

R&B Report

Quillen/Brock Jerkbait Their Way to R&B Win on Manitou

Andrew Quillen (Fort Wayne) and Dan Brock (Churubusco) fished a steep bank that led into a big spawning flat to catch 12.43 pounds and win the R&B Open on Lake Manitou on a blustery day.

The winners ($250) said the fish were just beginning to pull up on the flat where they fished traditional lures, like lipless crankbaits, blade baits and jigs but only the jig produced a keeper early. Shortly after, the jerkbait caught fire. The key was fishing it slow and lazy. They milked that stretch for all it would give up and caught 22 keepers throughout the day. They never caught a short fish.

Ron Fabiszak (South Bend) and Jason Fowler (South Bend) sorted through 10 keepers to pare down to an 11.51-pound limit and finish second ($130).

They focused their efforts in submerged grass between 5-6 feet of water with bladed jigs made by Kevin Fletcher. They had their limit by 9:30. They key was a "super slow" retrieve.

Mark Farver (Goshen) and Steve Kline (Albion) brought a 9.20-pound limit to grab third place ($80). Their fish were caught on umbrella rigs and lipless crankbaits in 10 feet of water.

Jake Wyatt and Bobby Nelson (Fulton) won the big bass pot ($130) with a 4.30-pound largemouth.

For more information about the regular season R&B Circuit and its divisions, visit www.randbbasscircuit.com.

BASS Report

Knoxville to Host 2019 Bassmaster Classic on The Tennessee River

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. - For the first time in its 49-year history, the GEICO Bassmaster Classic presented by DICK'S Sporting Goods will be held on the Tennessee River out of Knoxville, it was announced today by B.A.S.S. and the host organization, Visit Knoxville.

The prestigious championship bass tournament ó widely known as the "Super Bowl of Bass Fishing" ó will be held March 15-17 in downtown Knoxville and on The University of Tennessee at Knoxville campus.

"Knoxville meets and exceeds all the requirements we have for the Bassmaster Classic ó great fishing on the Tennessee River, first-class facilities to accommodate crowds of fishing fans, a vibrant city with plenty to see and do, and a corps of state and local tourism professionals who will ensure its success," said B.A.S.S. CEO Bruce Akin.

Casting Couples Report

Farver, Kline Win at Wawasee with 22 Pounds Despite Brutal Weather

Mark Farver (Albion) and Steve Kline (Goshen) used the new Minn Kota Spot Lock trolling motor feature to fight the wind while they fished out the back of their boat to catch a limit of 22 pounds and win the CastingCouples Open tournament last weekend on Lake Wawasee.

The weather was brutal with winds whipping out of the east and air temperatures around 36 degrees. The lake temperature ranged from 39 to 42 degrees.

Farver and Kline used crankbaits and jigs in 10 feet of water to win $270.

Jason Hall and Brian Wittker (Warsaw) also fished the main lake to catch 20.01 pounds to earn $120.

Jason Hall and Brian Wittker (Warsaw) also fished the main lake to catch 20.01 pounds to earn $120. They also used crankbaits and jigs and won the big bass pot ($55) with a 5.34-pound largemouth.

Neil Vanderbeizen (Battle Creek) and Ron Fabiszak (Mishawaka) used jigs to catch a 12.76-pound limit to win $50.

Jeremy Chase (Mishawaka) & Bryce Amberg (Granger) had four keepers that weighed 12.01 pounds for fourth. They used jigs and blade baits in the channels.

The next open tourney April 21 on the St. Joseph River at SixSpan Bridge, 7 a.m.-1 p.m.†Entry fee is $50 and $5 for big bass pot. Itís open to anyone.

Contact Rick Kedik at rkedik13@yahoo.com or 269-240-4917.